kick your shoes off and come on in …

Chicory Herb Coffee Substitute Cichorium Intybus

This awesome plant has been in cultivation for more than 5000+years, by Egyptians as a medicinal herb. Ancient Greeks and Romans also used chicory along with just about every other culture that lived along side it, both as a vegetable, and in salads and drinks. Apparently there are numerous references to it in the writings of Horace, Virgil, Ovid, and Pliny. Galenus gave it the name ‘Friend of the Liver’, because of its natural stimulating effect on the liver. Mass cropping in Europe began in earnest in the early 17th century and continues to this day. The plant is normally grown for both its bitter leaf and root, but I reckon its great as an ornamental too. Big towers of pale blue flowers. The leaf is great in a “Caesar salad”, lightly wilted before serving and packs a real nutritional punch with huge levels of antioxidants and inulin. I nibble a bit of leaf whenever I go past our patch. The other thing I love is the “COFFEE”, (or technically a roasted tea I guess?). We just grow the plant and harvest the leaf as needed, then when it’s a decent size, we dig it up, finely slice the root, then roast it in the oven for an hour or so till it turns a nice caramel colour. (you can just chuck it in when you have finished a roast or baking and the oven is still hot, kill the heat and walk away. Pull it out the next day and it should be pretty much perfect) Then just use it like normal coffee, but only use about a third of what you normally would as its nice and strong. Really strong bitter flavour that’s great on its own. So good that I always have a couple jars stashed in the cupboard! Traditional medicine practitioners often prescribe dried chicory root to treat jaundice and as prevention against liver damage, especially in heavy alcohol drinkers. Very rich in Beta-carotene that is shown in some studies to fight and prevent colon cancer. It is also used to treat gallstones and liver stones by increasing the secretion of bile from the liver and gallbladder promoting urination and excretion of harmful substances. Chicory is also used as natural sedative for nervous system. Leave themselves are naturally antibacterial and antifungal and are used to treat cuts and wounds, and as a natural anti-inflammatory when applied externally for arthritis, and rheumatism. Apparently “Chicory leaves are also recommended to be included in weight-loss diets especially to those who are high risk for diabetes mellitus. Other health benefits from chicory rich diet include lower LDL cholesterol level and improved bowel movement.” Well there you have it folks.

Talk about a versatile plant???  

17 responses

  1. Might be time to look into chicory methinks…wonder where I could find it?

    September 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    • Try SWAP JOINTS in your state, or ” e-bay ” for seeds….Some will post to Tasmania.😀

      I just bought some 10 GINSENG seeds, ( I know, very very Difficult to grow from seeds but I’m giving it a go ), and been told I must prepare the seeds for sprouting if they are not stratified ( Which they are not )…The whole process will take 12 months from next week …Awwwww
      Cheers😀

      September 18, 2014 at 12:30 am

      • Enjoy that😉. We smuggled 3 Araucaria Bidwillii back from the Melbourne International Flower show back in 2009 that were just laying on the ground under a HUGE Bunya nut pine and after a year they still hadn’t sprouted so Steve dug one out and they looked defunct so we tossed them into the compost and exactly 6 months later 3 baby bunya pines sprouted out of the compost heap! 18 months dormancy eh? Goes to show that you never can hurry nature. She does her own thing and marches to the beat of her own drum (even in the compost heap when pronounced deceased😉 )

        September 18, 2014 at 12:53 am

      • Yup, same here ….I have planted some Native Aussie Raspberries seeds and some Dwarf Blueberries variety and still waiting to shoot….With a bit of luck they may come one day …😀

        September 18, 2014 at 12:57 am

      • Pity we don’t live closer as I have native raspberries out of my ears! They have taken over my dwarf pine section under the deck. We don’t get any raspberries as the birds scoff them all but I have tasted them from the bush and they are incredibly fragrant and sweet for the size of them. If I ever get any fruit I will try to save you some seed🙂

        September 18, 2014 at 7:16 am

    • Wowww….You said that ” If I ever get any fruit I will try to save you some seed🙂 ????
      PLEASE PLEASE ..Save some…..Let me know or even try some young runners …We ( Transit ), accepts from anywere in Oz, I think from Tas also here in N.S.W. either seeds or plants…..You better check it out there Let me know and keep in contact, will post you my address later….Willing to pay big money including delivery …Seriously😀
      Cheers & Thanks

      September 19, 2014 at 2:44 am

      • I would just send them to you, don’t worry about postage, would be nothing as I could send them in an envelope. Just let me see if I can find some fruit to save for you first😉. they are all through the garden under my deck and are rife through the bushland around here (along with the nefarious blackberry curse). Easy to see as they are like small perfectly formed raspberries but teeny tiny and the one time I got to try one they were incredibly sweet and fragrant. You would need a whole lot for a fruit salad though😉. I will get in touch if I can manage to save you some seed OK?

        September 19, 2014 at 5:38 am

      • If you wanted runners you can have them. Let me know how to go about sending them to you as I should be easily able to send them to you in NSW. They should be fine if I package them in bubble wrap with vermiculite or pearlite to keep their roots safe. Get in touch and let me know how you want to get them as they are going nuts in the garden bed under the deck right now. No need for big money, if you want to pay for the delivery is AOK by me (as the runners would cost a bit more to send)

        September 19, 2014 at 5:40 am

    • narf77….You are my god sent SAVIOR with them raspberries…You have the right ones I need I think, ( As you wrote they are small & sweet )..That is it , these are the ones….. 😀 ….Actually, around Christmas I may plan to go 4 a week trip to visit Tas, possible not alone either, only if my cat wants to come….So, I will keep in touch and if I do, will sure get some runners…..Other-ways, some seeds will be more than appreciated….Couple hundreds will do Wow ..lol…😀
      Thanks a million

      September 21, 2014 at 12:49 pm

      • Just checked out this list of Native raspberries and it appears that there are quite a lot! The closest one that I could find to the variety that we have here is Rubus parvifollus. If that’s what you are after, we have a lot of them

        http://anpsa.org.au/APOL22/jun01-1.html

        As I said, we are not likely to get any fruit here as everything eats them but we have lots of runners.

        September 21, 2014 at 6:07 pm

      • Ops, Rubus parvifollus ???…Holly Molly …This variety can get out of hand😀 ..LOL… This is not the one I need or want ….GREAT REPLY …THANKS A MILLION with/for spelling the name of it..Awwwwww..I am looking for ” Rubus Rosifolius “….I have find it …$6 for 200 seeds …All the way from Quueensland …😀
        Cheers ( narf77 )

        September 22, 2014 at 12:55 am

      • Yeah, queensland has most of our native raspberries (and the rest of Asias by the sound of it😉 ). I wondered if you were after parvifollus😉

        September 22, 2014 at 1:36 am

      • Once you mentioned the name ” parvifollus “, I chocked 😀 …That saved me lots of pain….😉
        Thanks again…..Cheers

        September 22, 2014 at 1:40 am

      • 😉

        September 22, 2014 at 5:59 am

  2. you want some it grows wild here everywhere, roadside flowers

    September 19, 2014 at 1:19 am

    • Like I always say….BEST THINGS IN LIFE ARE FREE😀 ….Or, ..SOME ARE LOOKING FOR GOLD UNDER THE MOUNTAINS, WHILE I CAN FIND IT UNDER SMALL ROCKS…LOL….Are you sure not mistaken it for Dandelion ??😀
      Thanks …That makes me more determined to envy you now….Use it to the maximum for the potential it has…. Be happy for your state, that’s a gift from god..😀
      Cheers

      September 19, 2014 at 2:36 am

      • no it is chickory and it is everywhere😉 let me see how i harvest seeds here. i have never thought about it as i am always thinning it out of my domain so it does not overtake other plants.

        September 19, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Leave a Reply

