kick your shoes off and come on in …

HORNED MELON …( Cucumis metuliferus )…UNIQUE AFRICAN CUCUMBER And Very RARE

Have I confessed of my sins yet ?..Okay, I have sinned again ..Bought this seeds also yesterday.

I’l bet I will need new Diapers after a kilo of this beauties ..lol

Small vine producing heaps of delicious fruit!

Not NOXIOUS or prohibited in any state of Australia!!! 🙂

Really now, this is a very hardy plant that is 100% edible…( Try it your self )

It is the origin of all melons, the original one that they all grew from!

Cool looking fruits that start of green, then ripen to a golden yellow then vivid Orange.

Serious looking thorns, that do a pretty good job of protecting the juicy pulp from predation.

Watching the neighbours cows try to eat them is pretty amusing(they are growing wild in his corner block).

I will have a heap on my place down near the dam, they are great to munch on while having a dip.

No pests or diseases that I have noticed.

Stores for months after picking,…. Yellow/orange ones taste of banana/melon/something good…..

If you scoop out the flesh and boil with sugar and water then strain the seed out.

You can pour the “jelly” back in and set in the fridge for a cool Bright Green desert!

Great for the kiddies!….Just like me, since I still, am and feel like a kid ..Yayyyyyy

 

Well there you have it. Another cool and very versitile plant for the collection!

Till next time I will buy something new for my  projects, I wish you all folks, …HAPPY GARDENING 

Akka Old Fart….lol

5 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Akka's Natures Way+living.

    August 7, 2013 at 4:36 am

  2. YUM! Sounds like something to add to the “want” list. I have seen them for sale in the shops but haven’t found seed for them. Might be time to hunt a bit harder methinks. They sound like they would cope with a bit of rough treatment so they might be perfect for here 🙂

    August 8, 2013 at 4:28 am

    • Hunt hard, these beauties are hardy and grow any were. 😉

      Good luck….Read my blog on PEPINO next …lol

      August 8, 2013 at 4:53 am

      • My nan grew pepinos, I ate them as a kid in W.A. not a great fan to be honest sort of mild cucumbery melony taste. I tried growing them but the frost did them in. Might be a sign? 😉

        August 8, 2013 at 4:55 am

  3. Put them in pots and on the porch on frosty season

    August 8, 2013 at 4:58 am

Leave a Reply

